What else do I need to bring? We always recommend you bring a fully charged cell phone in case of emergencies. Bring some snacks, drinks, ice, sunscreen, towels, water toys, and a change of clothes in case it gets cool in the evening! What if we breakdown? Call or text us and we'll troubleshoot the problem and/or get you home safely.
Do I need a boating license? You do not but is highly recommended you take the "Rental Boat Safety" course to familiarize yourself with boating.
How many people can I put on the boat? Each boat type has a specific maximum passenger and weight capacity that may not be exceeded at any time. Every person onboard counts toward the total capacity and children count the same as adults regardless of their weight or size. Please refer to the Rental Fleet page to view the passenger & weight capacity for each boat.
Do you allow grills on the boat? No. There are several day use areas nearby that are equipped with grills and picnic tables however you will need to make arrangements with the park managing agency before arrival. Note that some of the lake parks do not allow access by water so check the restrictions for the park you wish to visit before your rental.
Where can I take the boat I rent? All boats and PWCs should stay between highway 68 bridge located by Ken Lake State Park in Kentucky, and highway 79 bridge located by Paris Landing State Park in TN. If you have a desired destination outside of this area please let us know prior. All rentals to be used no earlier than 30 minutes after Dusk and 30 minutes before Dawn Can someone in my group other than the renter drive the boat? Yes. Anyone in your group may drive the boat as long as they are at least 25 years old, have a valid driver’s license on file with Kentucky Lake Adventures, and have taken a boater safety course. It is recommended that any guests who want to drive, watch the Rental Boating Safety Videos and take the Captain’s Test prior to your arrival. https://www.rentalboatsafety.com/ Additional drivers can take the safety course and test on site to be added as authorized drivers on the day of the rental, however any delay this adds to the departure time will be at the renters expense.
Can I bring alcohol on the boat? Yes. There is no open container law, but remember the DUI laws are even more strict for boat drivers than they are on the road.
How old do you have to be to rent a boat? 25 years old to Rent or Drive.
Do you provide life jackets? Yes, the boats are supplied with all required safety equipment.
Do I have to wear a life jacket? By Law, children 12 years old or younger and anyone operating or riding a PWC (Waverunners Â®) must wear a life jacket at all times. Also Kentucky Lake Adventures requires any guest who is mentally or physically impaired, elderly, medicated, intoxicated or those who are not strong swimmers wear a life jacket at all times.
Do you rent water toys? Absolutely! We rent single & double tubes, water skis, stand-up paddle boards, wake boards and more.....check out our selection on the website.
Do I need a fishing license? A fishing license is required if you plan on fishing. We do not sell fishing licenses however you can obtain one at a local bait shop, Wal-Mart or you can purchase one directly from Kentucky Department of Fish & Wildlife. https://fw.ky.gov/Licenses/Pages/Fees.aspx
What if we have a problem while out on the water? By meticulously maintaining our rental fleet and providing you with all of the necessary safety equipment, we do all we can to minimize the possibility of any problems occurring. However, if you do encounter an issue that is not life-threatening, involving your rented boat during the rental period, please call us right away, at any time. **********In the event of a life-threatening emergency, please call the coast guard or dial 911.
Is gas included? The renter is responsible for the amount consumed.
On average, how much gas does the boat use? It is nearly impossible to quote an average fuel consumption because there are so many variables to consider (Usage, weight, water conditions, wind speed, etc.). A conservative average would be about 5 gallons per hour of engine time.